Ethereum Token Standards: ERC-20 & ERC-721

Disclaimer: Posts on the HyperTrader blog and associated HyperLinq websites are for educational and informational purposes only. These posts should not be taken as financial advice, nor are they meant to be viewed as trading advice. HyperLinq Inc. or the authors take no responsibility for any damages or losses.

In the series of DeFi explanation blog posts, today we’ll be discussing Ethereum token standards – majorly ERC-20 & ERC-721. Ethereum is currently the biggest blockchain network with hundreds of thousands of tokens listed on its network.

The exponential growth of DeFi can be credited to the Ethereum blockchain network and its permissionless nature allowing developers across the globe to create tokens on its network without going through the tedious process of creating a new blockchain. These tokens can represent various kinds of assets such as security & utility tokens, NFTs, or even real-world assets.

So, let’s delve into the Ethereum token standards and find out how they work, their types, and what they represent.

What are Ethereum Token Standards?

In essence, the Ethereum blockchain network is a complete ecosystem for decentralized computing, and these token standards are one of the Ethereum development standards focusing on the token interface. These token standards are basically smart contracts allowing projects to issue tokens on the Ethereum network while ensuring compatibility and compatibility with existing decentralized exchanges. 

With these token standards, Ethereum has made it possible for anyone to bypass all hurdles of creating a blockchain network or going through regulations of centralized exchanges. Now, let’s have a look at the types of Ethereum token standards.

Further Read: Understanding the Concept of Token

Types of Ethereum Token Standards

Majorly, there are two types of Ethereum token standards – ERC-20 & ERC-721. These token standards define and implement a set of common rules that all tokens must follow. These common rules include the total supply of tokens, how they can be transferred, transfer approvals, and data about tokens that users can access.


ERC-20 can be said to be the most famous token standard for Ethereum and across the blockchain networks. It’s a token standard for fungible tokens – fungibility is the property of any asset or token whose units are interchangeable among each other. For example, US dollar bills are fungible in nature as a $10 bill is worth the same as another $10 bill.

Most of the well-known projects such as MakerDAO, Compound, Aave, Brave, etc leverages the ERC-20 token standard for their digital currencies. 


If ERC-20 can be called a class of identical tokens, then ERC-721 can be called a class of unique tokens. ERC-721 is a token standard for non-fungible tokens setting rules about building non-fungible or unique tokens on the Ethereum blockchain network.

Unlike ERC-20, the ERC-721 tokens are one-of-a-kind collectible digital assets. In essence, ERC-721 sets a standard for creating NFTs by introducing a unique tokenId for every token. 

Learn more about the concept of NFTs and their real-world use-cases by following the link below.

What are NFTs?

Use-Cases of NFTs

#1 crypto trading terminal is here

Become a better Trader. Become a HyperTrader!

Start trading on the fastest, most secure trading platform.

More reads

Cryptocurrency market overview 2021

TL;DR: 👉 Read the report The year 2021 emerged as Spring to a long two-year Winter in the world of cryptocurrencies. A year of new beginnings, with buds of Defi summer on the trees, lighter evenings of institutional adoption, blowing of thaw-winds of new layer-1...

Announcement: Now Trade on FTX Derivatives with HyperTrader

We, at HyperLinq, are delighted to announce the onboarding of FTX Derivatives as our newest crypto exchange to support trading on our native desktop app, HyperTrader. Thus enabling FTX Derivatives traders to supercharge their crypto trading and experience reduced...

%d bloggers like this: